Customer Reviews

Mailing List & Customer Reviews

Some of our customers have had the courtesy to let us know what they thought of their visit to The County. We thought you might like it if we shared these with you...

What do you think?

Why not leave us your comments about your visit with us, or perhaps tell us how we could make The County even better?
Join Mailing List?   - Yes   - No

 

"An excellent meal with superb service. We have now visited you 4 times and consistently brilliant! Thank you.”
| Ms Julie - March 2017

"Very Enjoyable, service excellent, Friendly atmosphere.”
| Mrs N L Morley - March 2017

"Thanks the service and staff were excellent. Thanks very much signed Graham.”
| Graham Kennedy - March 2017

"Ab Fab!”
| Jane Katsambis - March 2017

"Food - Excellent. Service - Excellent. May thanks.”
| Martin Cass - March 2017

"Really nice food – just the right amount. Nice ambience. Where did you get the chrome rams heads from? (we really like them) See you sooooooooon!”
| Nicola Howe - March 2017

"Ambience Excellent. Food Brilliant. Staff very attentive. Very enjoyable evening.”
| K Wailes - March 2017

"Good menu – with sufficient choice. Food very good – Delicious. Service efficient and pleasant.”
| Mary Read - March 2017

"Fantastic food, Great Service. Friendly Staff.”
| Mr Rennison - March 2017

"Lovely meal as always, it is always a treat to come to a warm & welcoming environment, where all staff make it feel like a home away from home. Food is always tasty. a high standard all round.”
| Mrs Taylor - February 2017

"Excellent food & Service, Drinking Chocolate was unexpectedly Perfect.”
| Mary Dixon - February 2017

"Absolutely Amazing Steaks! Thank You!”
| Lisa Wheeldon - February 2017

"I thought it was amazing and I am definitely coming back!”
| Darren Stubley - February 2017

"We called in on the off chance that we might get a table at peak time, very warm welcome, one of the cleanest pubs we’ve been to recently. Nice friendly staff. Well done to all, veg portions could be a bit bigger.”
| Mr & Mrs Hall - January 2017

"We have enjoyed our visit – Larger portions of Veg and also mash potato would be better.”
| Julia Hope - January 2017

"Food fab as usual, Gluten Free Yorkshire Puds Amazing Keep Up with the GF, been many times before.”
| Gail Foster - January 2017

"Always good to return. Assured of excellent meal & good service. Tonight was no exception. Many thanks”
| Jean & Derek Vincent - September 2016

"Meal excellent as always with pleasant staff.”
| Mr & Mrs Wilkinson - September 2016

"Lovely pub. Friendly & helpful staff. Fabulous food…. What else can we say!”
| Shelagh Britton - August 2016

"We have had a lovely stay, Very nice rooms. Staff & food very good. Will recommend you and we will come back Stayed for a wedding.”
| Lynne Smith - August 2016

"Fantastic meal, venue everything spot on. The toilets are super clean, which demonstrates the quality of the restaurant.”
| Angela Wright - June 2016

"Great food for a Tuesday afternoon lunch. Superb food 7 excellent service, already booked for Sunday lunch for family. Thanks again Jean.”
| Lorraine Watts - June 2016

"Fabulous food and great service! Everything was top notch.”
| Mary Holden - June 2016

"We found this lovely place by chance 2 years ago & return often. It’s our special place, wonderful food & excellent service.”
| Mrs Valerie Tubb - June 2016

"Best meal I’ve ever had!!! Dessert was unreal. Thanks.”
| Stephen Brown - June 2016

"Room very smart and comfortable. Excellent facilities. Food and service 10/10. Would stay again.”
| Ron & Carole Eaton - June 2016

"Friendly staff and lovely staff. Value for money.”
| Claire Norton - May 2016

"Visited with some business colleagues. I had venison in a herb crust with sweet potato puree with a rosemary and recurrent jus, accompanied by potatoes and seasonal vegetables. The venison was perfectly cooked and so delicious with jus and puree. For pudding, I had rhubarb cheesecake with poached rhubarb, rhubarb grenadine, with oat tuile & rhubarb ice cream. Both dishes were absolutely delicious!!! The service was excellent too. Unfortunately, I live about 5 hours drive away. Heartily recommended.”
| Ms Harvey - March 2016

"Once again thank you for a wonderful meal.”
| Elizabeth Norman - March 2016

"The food and service was excellent as usual. Perfect cheeseboard.”
| Val Ovington - March 2016

"I’ve had a wonderful break here at The County. Service has been 1st class. (so nice to go somewhere with excellent communication skills!!). The room is wonderful, power-shower amazing. Love everything about the place and will definitely be back Thank you so much”
| Julie Walker - March 2016

"Hi, I just want to say a huge thank you once again to the wonderful staff at The County. You really do 'make the place!' Excellent food served by wonderful staff. Superb service, thank you all so much...”
| Julie Clark - March 2016

"Lovely food! Liquorice ice cream was especially good. Lovely, friendly staff, would recommend”
| Tracy Maychell - February 2016

"Visited with some business colleagues. I had venison in a herb crust with sweet potato puree with a rosemary and recurrent jus, accompanied by potatoes and seasonal vegetables. The venison was perfectly cooked and so delicious with jus and puree. For pudding, I had rhubarb cheesecake with poached rhubarb, rhubarb grenadine, with oat tuile & rhubarb ice cream. Both dishes were absolutely delicious!!! The service was excellent too. Unfortunately, I live about 5 hours drive away. Heartily recommended.”
| Ms Harvey - March 2016

"Once again thank you for a wonderful meal.”
| Elizabeth Norman - March 2016

"The food and service was excellent as usual. Perfect cheeseboard.”
| Val Ovington - March 2016

"I’ve had a wonderful break here at The County. Service has been 1st class. (so nice to go somewhere with excellent communication skills!!) The room is wonderful, power-shower amazing. Love everything about the place and will definitely be back Thank you so much.”
| Julie Walker - March 2016, Rooms Guest

"Lovely food! Liquorice ice cream was especially good. Lovely, friendly staff, would recommend.”
| Tracy Maychell - February 2016

"Stayed here on Saturday 31st January 2016 and have to say that my husband and myself were very impressed. The staff were very friendly and the rooms are gorgeouse, spotlessly clean and very nicely decorated and are situated in their own building next to the restaurant so its very peaceful and I must say the bed was very comfortable. Whoever decorated it took in to account all the customers needs as we wanted for nothing. The breakfast was fantastic, we had the full English that consisted of sausage, eggs, beans , blackpudding, bacon, mushroom, and tomato all freshly cooked for us. Next time we are down visiting we will also have a meal because I believe the food is very good. so thank you for giving us a wonderful time and can't wait to come back.”
| Evelyn Anderson - February 2016

"Lovely food & accommodation very clean & modern.Need a refuge from our bungalow that was undergoing building work. All at the County we're welcoming , food was great we will be back thank you all.”
| Carol Bacon - August 2015

"I just wanted to say a massive thank you to yourself and the staff for making my dad’s meal last night very special. The food and service were excellent and everyone enjoyed the night. Many thanks once again ”
| Lyndsey - August 2015

"Lovely meal and very attentive staff. Really enjoyed it! Thank you.”
| Liz Berner - August 2015

"Great décor, great food and atmosphere, fab cheese board. Amazing service.”
| Tricia Etherington - July 2015

"We had our daughters wedding reception on Easter Saturday at The County The food was delisious the service outstanding and the attention to detail was perfect The manageress organised everything for us and everything went like clockwork Thank you very much to all the staff and a special thankyou to the manageress.”
| Arthur Gordon - April 2015

"A splendid New Year's Eve meal! Food service very good. Lively, busy atmosphere but we didn't feel hurried or pushed. You've got it just about perfect.”
| January 2015

"Just thought I would drop you a line to thank you and your staff for a wonderful New Years Evening. We had a great evening, as always the food, service and atmosphere were fantastic. Thank you and we look forward to dining at The County in 2015. See you sometime in January. Many thanks and best wishes to you all in 2015.”
| Angela and Mike Taylor - January 2015

"We had our works Christmas Lunch today and once again the food and service was fabulous. Many thanks for looking after us so well. Thank you”
| Sue Hindle - December 2014

"Just wanted to say thanks from the whitaker party at 3pm today, was a lovely meal and will defiantly visit for food again in the future. ”
| Ben Whitaker - December 2014

"Just wanted to say that the food was amazing last night! It was the best tagliatelle that I've ever had! Just going to do you a Trip Advisor review now. It's my Dad's birthday next Thursday so think that I will bring him with my Mum and Fiancé.”
| Natalie Johnson - November 2014

"Excellent food and service. Cheese board exceptional value.”
| Doreen Wigham - October 2014

"We love The County. Things are just perfect. Don't change anything.”
|Caz - October 2014

"Fabulous 1 of our favourite places to eat.”
| Thomas Scott - September 2014

"Excellent place to eat and relax.”
| Paula Richards - September 2014

"Excellent meal, beautiful relaxing surroundings and friendly staff. thank you.”
| Karen Thompson - September 2014

"My wife & I stayed Friday 18th August 2014 one night B&B Extremely comfortable room Facilities Excellent Collettes attention to detail was a Joy to behold By the way the Breakfast is worth the stay Keep up the good work.”
| Malcolm & Christine Dinsley - August 2014

"No recommendation!!Just carry on with the excellent food and friendly, welcoming staff. The County is one of my favourite places to eat.”
| Mrs Elsie Kitching - August 2014

"Thank you for truly wonderful meal – excellent food and first class service in stylish surroundings.”
| Sally Lakey - August 2014

"Excellent service, pleasant staff + delicious food. Will definitely be back again.”
| Denise Franks - August 2014

"Excellent quality of food and service. The best meal for quite a while!”
| Felicity Kilburn - August 2014

"Couldn't fault the food, service or ambience.”
| Lynn and Paul Evans - August 2014

"Excellent. Second time here, will be back.”
| Matt Nicholson - August 2014

"Very enjoyable meal – as always. We keep coming back.”
| H. B & R Leonard - August 2014

"Beautiful meal. Cheesecake was amazing! ”
| Ashley Bainbridge - August 2014

"We googled 'good food in area'. Glad we choose here. Food and staff excellent. Ale ++”
| S. Stokes - August 2014

"A fabulous Sunday Family meal – everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. Service was excellent, really enjoyable Thank you”
| Marion Howarth - July 2014

"Thank you. Excellent food and lovely atmosphere.”
| Gail Hodgson - June 2014

"Lovely service and a great Sunday lunch. Kids devoured the lot, as we did!”
| Clare Williams - June 2014
"Always excellent food and fantastic service.”
| Victoria Clark - June 2014
"A perfectly superb lunch for a party of seven. Very grateful and satisfied people. Many thanks.”
| Philip Maxey - May 2014

"A really lovely, comfortable room with a great bathroom. The food was fantastic, and presentation was second to none. We will definetly be back again in May.”
| Ian Howson - April 2014

"Back home in Scotland after two nights at the County. First visit and will be back very soon. Lovely food, lovely people,lovely room. This has got to be one of the best places I have ever stayed. Thanks to you all.”
| Peter Buxton - February 2014

"Once again been for a meal and was not disapointed i tried the lamb shank and my husband who hates fish had the sea bass , can i just say you have converted him thank you for a 1st class meal.”
| Alison Atkinson - September 2013

"Excellent accommodation, fantastic food and great service. We would highly recommend it,we will continue to visit”
| Karen Jones - August 2013

"Our first meal at The County will definitely not be our last. 1st class food with 1st class service. Can't wait to return.”
| March 2013

"Gorgeous food and wonderful service. What more could you ask for! Will definitely be returning.”
| Diane Cleves - February 2013

"We once again had a lovely meal last night (valentines night ) as per usual food was top class and the staff are so pleasant and carnt do enough for you , carnt wait to come back thank you for making a special night memorable.”
| Alison Atkinson - February 2013

"Have been eating at The County for about 4/5 years and each time the entire experience is welcoming and enjoyable, thank you Colette and Stuart, the fish pie is divine, we will continue to visit.”
| Chris Hogg - January 2013

"Food excellent & very friendly.”
| Josephine Hope - January 2013

"We enjoyed a lovely peaceful pre-christmas meal from the Christmas Faye Menu. The food and service was fantstic. Thank you. Cannot wait to visit again.”
| Sharon Mavin - January 2013

"Have just spent 2 wweks in the uk and stayed in one of the beautiful rooms at the County. Colette and Stuart made us feel so welcome. The food and the service from all the staff was superb. We would highly recommend it. Many thanks to you all Ann and Kevin. xx”
| Kevin & Ann Smith - December 2012

"Just had a meal tonight and have to say its brill the staff are 1st class and pleasent and as for the meal even better have been a few times and always a pleasure to dine there.”
| Alison Atkinson - December 2012

"Thank you Colette, Stuart and the team for making our Ruby wedding celebration the best we could ever wish for excellent food and outstanding service. Thank you. xx ”
| Geoffrey and Denise Raine - August 2012

"Just to say thanks for a lovely meal ( again!), food was delicious, staff were ever so polite and helpful, can't wait to come back!”
| Ross, Louise, Debbie & Philip - April 2012

"First visit to The County, very impressed with the food and the service, we highly recommend it.”
| Paul & Gillian Johnson-Kane - April 2012

"Fantastic food, great atmosphere, return visit already planned.”
| Ed Lowe - April 2012

"We have been here twice in the past three weeks and are booked for tomorrow evening. The food, servce and atmosphere are faultless...”
| Elizabeth Graham - February 2012

"Excellent accommodation. Couldn't have wished for anything better!”
| Heather Larby - February 2012

"Excellent food & service. Look forward to coming back.”
| Mrs A. Quinn - September 2011

"Excellent service, beautiful food & lovely atmosphere.”
| Shirley Megson - September 2011

"Very good food for dinner, good local ale, nice atmsophere & very friendly staff.”
| Karsten Sander - July 2011

"We regularly eat and drink in the county and always find the food, the welcome and service superb.”
| Ann & Kevin - June 2011

"Spotless, comfortable & great value for money.”
| Mark Bonehill - May 2011

"Homely, friendly & lovely cosy atomsphere surrounds the place. Great rooms , food to die for , couldn''t stay & wouldn't stay anywhere esle when in the area.”
| Peter Stokes - May 2011

"Stayed B&B in room 6 which was immaculately presented at a very reasonable price.The food and in particular the service was fantastic in the County and I will defintely recommend to my colleagues and friends alike.”
| Steven Beechey - July 2010

"Been a couple of times loved the food and the atmosphere. Will be attending more in the future.”
| K. Wheadon - May 2010

"Stayed for a business visit. Very, very impressed. Lovely rooms, immaculately presented. The best meal out I've had in a long time. Wonderful. Can highly recommend.”
| Sheila Knight - April 2010
"I brought my parents to The County yesterday to celebrate my father\'s 70th birthday. The ambience was spot on and the food was excellent. The salmon fishcakes in particular were exceptional and the fillet steak was very tasty. The next time I am in Durham to visit my parents we are likely to call in again, but with my wife and kids next time."
| Steve Plant - March 2010

Copyright © 2017 The County.  All Rights Reserved.  Terms & Conditions  |  Privacy Policy
The County, The Green, Aycliffe Village, Co. Durham, DL5 6LX  |  Tel: 01325 312273

View photos from The County on Flickr »
a Carlton & Co. project »created by happyleaves »